European Corner

  • A roadmap for the coming period, the creation of a European Monetary Fund, the transposition of the ESM Treaty into EU law, new budgetary instruments for the euro area and an EU Minister of Finance. Those were the proposals the European Commission put forward on December 6th to strengthen the European Monetary Union.

  • On November 22nd, the European Commission presented its autumn package of economic and social priorities for the EU, the euro area and the EU Member States, in the context of the European Semester. A few days later, the European Commission set out the rules governing electronic payment transactions that aim to modernise payment services in Europe. On November 30th, the European Parliament reached an agreement on creditor hierarchy, IFRS 9 and large risk exposures, in light of measures aiming to reduce risk in the financial sector.

  • On November 20th, the EU27 ministers chose Paris as the new location for the European Banking Authority (EBA) and Amsterdam for the European Medicines Agency (EMA). The General Affairs Council also approved new securitisation and cyber security rules on the same day.

  • The EU Ministers of Finance met on November 6th, 2017 to discuss the further development of the Banking Union. The next day, the finance ministers discussed improved VAT rules to promote e-commerce and online businesses. On November 13th, the Commission launched a public consultation on how asset managers and institutional investors can implement environmental, social and governance aspects, among other things, in their decision-making.

  • On October 24th, the European Commission adopted its Work Programme which sets out its key initiatives for 2018. The programme contains 66 priority pending proposals requiring swift adoption by the Parliament and Council, as well as 26 new proposals setting out initiatives to complete the work on Juncker’s 10 priorities and more long-term initiatives with a view to shaping the EU’s future for 2025 and beyond.

  • During its latest meeting on October 19 and 20th, the European Council focussed on the ongoing efforts regarding migration, digitalisation, external relations and the Brexit negotiations. The Council also established its work programme for the months and years to come through the Leaders' Agenda. 

  • During the latest meeting of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN), the Council adopted proposals on climate change. Proposals on VAT reform, digital economy taxation, dispute resolution in double taxation and bank capital requirements are also being considered. Furthermore, the European Commission called for the completion of the European Banking Union by 2018 in a communication on 11 October 2017.

  • On 29 September 2017, the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, in cooperation with the President of the European Council and the European Commission, organized the first ever Digital Summit of the European Union in Tallinn. On the same day, the Single Resolution Board (SRB) held its second conference in Brussels under the theme “Building resolvability together”.

  • The European Commission is proposing reforms to the mandates of the European supervisory authorities to pave the way for stronger and more integrated European financial supervision. The Commission also outlined the challenges of digital taxation and possible solutions to support growth and ensure fair and effective taxation.

  • On 13 September 2017, the President Jean-Claude Juncker of the European Commission delivered his annual policy speech on the State of the European Union at the European Parliament in Strasbourg. In his speech Juncker takes stock of Europe's current political and economic landscape. He urges the European Union to stay on the same course as in the previous year and calls for a more united, stronger and more democratic Union.

Pages

European Corner

  • L’élaboration d’un plan par étapes pour la période à venir, la création d’un Fonds monétaire européen, la transposition du Traité relatif au Mécanisme européen de stabilité en droit européen, nouveaux instruments budgétaires pour la zone euro et la désignation d’un ministre européen des Finances. La Commission a présenté le 6 décembre ces propositions pour renforcer l’Union monétaire et européenne.

  • Le 22 novembre, la Commission européenne a présenté son paquet d’automne prévoyant des priorités économiques et sociales pour l’UE, la Zone euro et les Etats membres de l’UE, dans le cadre du semestre européen. Quelques jours plus tard, la Commission européenne a fixé les règles qui régissent les paiements électroniques et ont ainsi pour vocation de moderniser les services de paiement en Europe. Le Parlement européen est parvenu le 30 novembre à un accord concernant la hiérarchie des créanciers, l’IFRS 9 et les expositions aux grands risques, dans le cadre des travaux visant à réduire les risques dans le secteur financier.

  • Le 20 novembre, les ministres des 27 Etats de l’UE ont choisi Paris comme nouveau lieu d’implantation de l’Autorité bancaire européenne (ABE) et Amsterdam pour l’Agence européenne des Médicaments (AEM). Ce même jour, le Conseil des Affaires générales a également approuvé de nouvelles règles pour la titrisation et la cybersécurité.

  • Les ministres UE des Finances se sont réunis le 6 novembre 2017 pour discuter du développement futur de l’Union bancaire. Le lendemain, les ministres des Finances ont discuté des règles TVA améliorées de manière à promouvoir le e-commerce et les entreprises en ligne. Le 13 novembre, la Commission a lancé une consultation publique sur la manière dont les gestionnaires de fortune et les investisseurs institutionnels peuvent implémenter entre autres les aspects environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance dans leur processus décisionnel.

  • Le 24 octobre 2017, la Commission européenne a adopté son programme de travail présentant les principales initiatives pour 2018. Le programme recense 66 propositions prioritaires en attente qui doivent être adoptées rapidement par le Parlement et le Conseil, ainsi que 26 nouvelles propositions d’initiatives pour achever les travaux portant sur les 10 priorités politiques de Juncker, ainsi qu’une série d’initiatives à plus long terme visant l’avenir de l’UE à l’horizon 2025 et au-delà.

  • La réunion du Conseil européen des 19 et 20 octobre s’est concentrée sur les thèmes prioritaires récurrents que sont les migrations, l’Europe numérique, les relations extérieures et l’état des négociations sur le Brexit. Le Conseil a également arrêté son programme de travail pour les mois et années à venir dans son Programme des dirigeants.

  • Au cours de sa dernière réunion, le Conseil pour les Affaires économiques et financières (ECOFIN) a adopté des propositions concernant le changement climatique. Cette réunion a également l’occasion de discuter de propositions relatives à la réforme de la TVA, à la taxe sur l’économie numérique et au règlement des litiges en cas de double imposition, ainsi que de propositions visant les exigences en capitaux bancaires. Dans une Communication du 11 octobre 2017, la Commission européenne plaide pour l’achèvement de l’Union bancaire européenne d’ici 2018.

  • Le 29 septembre 2017, la présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’Union européenne a organisé, en collaboration avec le président du Conseil de l’Europe et de la Commission européenne, le premier sommet numérique de l’Union européenne à Tallinn. Le même jour, le Conseil de résolution unique (CRU) a tenu sa deuxième conférence à Bruxelles centrée sur le thème « Building resolvability together ».

  • Le 13 septembre 2017, le Président de la Commission européenne, Jean-Claude Juncker, a présenté son Etat de l’Union, la déclaration de politique annuelle, au Parlement européen à Strasbourg. Dans son allocution, il a fait le point sur le paysage politique et économique actuel en Europe. Il a appelé l’Union européenne à garder la même trajectoire que l’an dernier et plaidé, entre autres, pour un renforcement de l’unité et de la démocratie dans l’Union européenne.

  • Le 4 août 2017, l’Autorité bancaire européenne (ABE) a publié une note pour discussion sur la politique FinTech. Quelques semaines plus tard, la Commission européenne a lancé une consultation publique sur les structures post-transactionnelles du marché des capitaux européens : quels sont les principaux problèmes et vers quelle stratégie tendre dans l’avenir ?

Pages